Suggest your favourite musical artist to be awarded a star on the Walk of Fame!

Now you have another chance to influence which names from the music industry you would like to see immortalised on the star plates on the Walk of Fame. Suggestions can be submitted online until 25 June 2021.

The first international Walk of Fame for music in Finland was opened in Tampere in the autumn of 2019, when 11 of the first star plates were embedded in the street. Last year, six new names were added to the Walk of Fame. New stars are added every year based on suggestions from the public. Now, it is time to suggest the recipients of stars for 2021.

The stars added to the Walk of Fame represent Tampere as a diverse city of music and different sectors and genres, not only pop music, rock or any single type of music. When new stars are selected, diversity, nationwide reach and equality in terms of gender and age are considered. The significance for Tampere’s musical heritage is also important.

Based on suggestions from the public, Jean Sibelius, Kaija Saariaho, Juice Leskinen, Popeda, Cheek, Katri Helena, Epe Helenius, Tapio Korjus, Eppu Normaali, Nightwish, Karita Mattila, Ismo Alanko and Paula Koivuniemi have already received a star on the street.

You can suggest any person or party who influences or has influenced the music industry: artists, bands, music makers, lyrics writers, composers and music producers, as well as representatives of organisations or institutions. This year, the names of three to five stars nominated by the public will be embedded in the street.

The Tampere Walk of Fame is located on the section of Åkerlundinkatu from Tampere Hall to the Tulli area.  The Walk of Fame Finland is a cooperation between the City of Tampere, the Tampere Hall and the professional music-industry event Music & Media Finland. Bauer Media Oy is involved as a partner.

The recipients of the 2021 stars will be announced on Tampere Day, 1 October 2021.

Leave your suggestion here.